My Little Pony Magazine

I’m delighted, DELIGHTED, to have come across the new My Little Pony Magazine. Lauren Faust’s reboot of the cartoon series is in my opinion one of the very best girls’ cartoon series to ever exist (although, a quick, somewhat regrettable, glance around the internet will reveal that its not just little girls that this show is popular with) and a magazine spin off was somewhat inevitable with such a well known franchise. If you don’t know anything about the new My Little Pony, please don’t jump to the conclusion that its ‘just girly nonsense’, and go watch it!

I moan an awful lot about the quality of magazines for preteen girls. There is so little out there that passes my ‘positive content checklist’ that I described in my early drafts of my dissertation proposal. The main problem with British girls’ magazines today, is the giant empty gap between preschool magazines; which are usually based on tv characters and feature puzzles, colouring and education; and teenage magazines which are about celebrity gossip, fashion and make-up, and BOYS. A continuum barely exists.  And my concerns are echoed by parents too.

My Little Pony magazine goes a small way towards finding that middle ground. While the puzzles and colouring-in are all standard children’s magazine fare, but the inclusion of the comic ( 8 pages of comics!) and a very short pose story provide something more engaging for (I would guess) 7-9 year olds.

What I would love to see happen next would be for a My Little Pony graphic novel to be made- something along the lines of Disney’s Tinkerbell graphic novels- which are by all accounts I’ve come across really good!

“When I took the job, I braced myself for criticism, expecting many people — without even watching the show — to instantly label it girly, stupid, cheap, for babies or an evil corporate commercial. I encourage skeptics like this to watch My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic with an open mind. If I’m doing my job right, I think you’ll be surprised.”

Lauren Faust
This entry was published on November 30, 2011 at 4:06 pm. It’s filed under Dissertation, Girls' Comics, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

